Publications Staff Members Win National Awards in Communications Contest

Publications Staff Members Win National Awards in Communications Contest
Two Sage Hill seniors and two alumnae have won national awards in the 2020 NFPW National High School Communications Contest.

Megan Chan ‘20 won second place in the Cartooning category for her impeachment cartoon in the November issue of The Bolt.

Amanda Marshall ‘20 won third place in the Graphics category for her artwork that appeared with the editorial in the October issue of The Bolt.

Hannah Woodworth ‘19 won third place for her Editorial “No Place for Anti-Semitism” in the May 2019 issue.

Madison Harris-Weiner ‘19 won honorable mention for her Review of “American Graffiti” that also ran in the May 2019 issue.

These four young women were entered into the national contest after taking first place in their category in the California Press Women (CPW) High School Communications Contest. The contest accepted entries published between February 1, 2019 and January 31, 2020.

In addition to these four first-place finishes in the state contest, Sage Hill students and alumni won 6 other awards:

Isabella Mora ‘19: 2nd place in Opinion
Ian Grimm ‘20: 2nd place in Environment
Yuna Baek ‘20 and Lily Button ‘21: 2nd place in Editorial
Polina Mogilevsky ‘20: Honorable Mention in Features
Trevor Klein ‘19: Honorable Mention in Opinion
Madison Harris-Weiner ‘19: Honorable Mention in Review

“This is the best showing in this contest we’ve had since I became Publications Adviser three years ago,” Assistant Director of Communications Kelly Abbate said. “We placed in seven of the eight categories we entered. And that we had four different students take first place in their respective categories is absolutely incredible! I am so proud of the entire Publications team, past and present.”


Copyright 2015 Sage Hill School   |   Privacy Policy   |   20402 Newport Coast Drive   |   Newport Coast, CA 92657   |   Phone: 949.219.0100   |   Fax: 949.219.1399