Publications Staff Wins 20 Awards in Communications Contest

Publications Staff Wins 20 Awards in Communications Contest

Eleven former and current students from Sage Hill’s Publications staff won a total of 20 individual awards in the 2019 California Press Women’s High School Communications Contest.

Last year, Sage Hill had four students win five individual awards in the same contest.

“I am so thrilled that so many of our wonderful student journalists were recognized in this year’s CPW contest,” said Publications adviser Kelly Parker. “This year, we also submitted some work from the end of the last school year, so it was extra special to see a couple of our Class of 2018 alumni win awards, as well.”

Congratulations to our CPW award winners:

Noah Cha ‘18: Second Place - Opinion
Megan Chan ‘20: Third Place, Honorable Mention - Cartoon
Camille Hansen ‘20: Honorable Mention - Cartoon
Madison Harris-Weiner ‘19: 2 Second Place, 2 Third Place - Review
Lily Humphrey ‘19: Third Place, Honorable Mention - Cartoon
Jacob Gibbs ‘20: Third Place, Second Place - Opinion
Trevor Klein ‘19 : 4 Second Places - Opinion
Sydney McCord ‘19: Honorable Mention - Opinion
Niva Razin ‘18: Second Place - Opinion
Sasha Ronaghi ‘19: Second Place - Opinion
Annie Tang ‘20: Honorable Mention - Feature Photo

In addition to the CPW contest, the Publications staff also recently won multiple awards from the American Scholastic Press Association, including first-place wins for both The Bolt newspaper and Storm yearbook.

The Bolt also won awards for:
  • Outstanding cover or front page
  • Outstanding editorial, “Youth and Healthcare” by Hannah Woodworth ‘19
  • Outstanding investigative reporting by Sydney McCord ‘19

“Our Publications staff is looking strong, even with many senior staffers graduating in a couple weeks,” Parker said. “But they are passing the torch along to a group of equally talented young journalists, and we’re all looking forward to seeing what next year brings.”

Photo: Members of the Publications editorial board for 2018-2019. From left: Lily Button, Hannah Woodworth, Sarah Kim, Madison Harris-Weiner, Halah Biviji and Daniel Fishman.


Copyright 2015 Sage Hill School   |   Privacy Policy   |   20402 Newport Coast Drive   |   Newport Coast, CA 92657   |   Phone: 949.219.0100   |   Fax: 949.219.1399